Levels of Hospice Care

There are four levels of hospice care. The level of care provided is based upon you or your loved one’s individual needs in the setting that is most appropriate and comfortable.

Routine Care
This level of care is provided in the patient’s place of residence — in your private home, an assisted living community, a skilled nursing or long-term care facility, or another residential setting. Under routine care, you receive regular visits from members of your care team, based upon your specific needs. As your needs change, team members adjust their visits to accommodate these changes and ensure optimal care.

General Inpatient Care (GIP)
If you experience acute symptoms that cannot be safely managed in your home or other residential setting, you may require a higher level of care called General Inpatient (or GIP) care. GIP care is provided in a skilled nursing facility, a hospital, or a hospice inpatient unit such as our McCarthy Care Center in Sandwich. Once symptoms are under control, you may return to your home under the routine level of care.

Click here to read more:

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.


Always Here caregivers are extensively screened, trained and background checked.
Always Here Home Care is insured, bonded and licensed by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.